Wonder

I was walking into campus this morning, feeling silly how much the sunshine was cheering me up. I thought about vitamin D manufacture and brain chemicals, and then I also thought how this light, this warmth, was, 8 minutes ago, a fiery blast from nuclear fusion in an enormous star 93 million miles away, these particular photons, travelling through a dark empty expanse swiftly to my face, as I stand here in the parking lot. It is not trivial to rejoice in it, deliriously, and to marvel at the buds on the trees.

Who has gone up to heaven and come down?

Whose hands have gathered up the wind?

Who has wrapped up the waters in a cloak?

Who has established all the ends of the earth?

What is his name, and what is the name of his son?

Leave a Reply

