a prayer

Dear Father God,

I’ve run out of myself. You made me, so please come to me right now.

Please love people through me. My love is too weak and too strong–it flares up and hurts people. So overshadow my heart with yours. Love people through me. Let my heart be a channel for you, a PVC pipe.

Also, give me your Hope, that beats steadily, like your heart.

And give me your Faith. “Lord, I believe, help my unbelief.” Give me your Faith, Christ. Your Faith that was in the garden, kneeling, when you told God you’d drink the cup for me.

I’ve run out of myself. That is why I’m asking you.

I’m tired, silly, and inconstant.

So live through me this day. Be in my breath. Together we can do this. You make me. Make me today, and tomorrow.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

