Obnoxious, et al

Religion means well. “Religiare” in Latin means “to tie or bind”. Religion is a bunch of rules and systems and networks and hierarchies that attempt to tie God himself to the human soul. Its tangled up with society, with relationships, with families, and kingdoms and laws and history, heavy with the weight of paths tried and mistakes made.

So if you are sick of it, I think I understand. You don’t want to get caught in a net.

And I’m sure this blog alone makes you wonder what is the good of it. Mea Culpa. You know I’m a religio-political mess, irate and sentimental and arrogant and quick to judgement, with more inflated or broken ideals than the discarded currency of an overthrown regime. I could, at this point, argue here that “hah, well you should see what I’d be without religion” (it would be even more awful) or that religion, like indoor plumbing, is a (sometimes smelly) necessity…

But that is all beside the point. You don’t have to agree with me — I might be wrong. Forget about the nets. Just go to the radioactive blazing source.

Look. God is your father. He’s like a nuclear furnace at the heart of a star. I can’t put it into words. And he is your father, who watches every tear fall from your face in the dead of night. He a whirlwind. He is the one who grows every lumpy fish-looking fetus, and holds it like a gentle craftsmen, and breathes into it till it breathes its first breath.

And He is the one in the hurricanes, and the earthquakes. He gives life unlooked for, and death uncalled for, and things we do not understand.

But he a blazing fire and he is your father.

Just let go of yourself, and just, for ten seconds, trust the universe. Leap into his whirlwind. Trust the universe, trust Him, absolutely. Let go, let go of everything you think you are, and ask Him to show up and take you. Surrender, and let yourself see His Face.

It’s worth everything.

I swear it on my bone’s marrow, it will be worth it. You will find healing.

And the lion shall lie down with the lamb, and the little child shall lead them.

4 thoughts on “Obnoxious, et al

    1. 😦 You are one of the best people I’ve met in my life. I’m pretty crappy, and I know my religious/political/ethical outlook is probably offensive to most of the universe, and I cause far more pain then I intend. But that’s on me, not God. (Same goes for most Christians). Please don’t let us be a reason to give up on God.

      1. Nooo! Please don’t say that. You aren’t crappy at all. You are a lovely, lovely person and I’m so lucky to know you. I don’t agree with you on a lot of political things, I’m sure, but I’m not sure that always matters, really.

        I more just meant that I’ve never really been able to feel the way you speak about feeling at the end of your writing here. Maybe when I was little? But not for a long time, at least. It sounds so lovely.

Leave a Reply

