A thimble in a waterfall

That is me in life right now. Too much sorrow and too much goodness and too much beauty and too much life all jumbled up and pouring down. My cup runneth over.

I saw my nieces and nephew last weekend. I can’t complain to God about my lot in life or the state of the world, knowing they exist. If I had planned things out in my tidy universe, I could never have dreamed them up.

God is like the North Wind in George MacDonald’s At the Back of the North Wind. It doesn’t make sense by my logic. But I am grateful. Scared too. And sorrowing a little. But grateful.

And maybe it is normal for joy and sorrow to run so closely together. Perhaps separating the two is just a finite human idea, because we are in spacetime. Outside time, maybe they are intertwined. If God is in eternity, perhaps he always carried both in his heart.

.

Leave a Reply

