Naked Blunt Truth Post #1: Changing my ways

I noticed something that irked me about Augustine of Hippo:

He’ll sometimes give random reasons for why something is bad–instead of the reason (I suspect) he actually thinks it is bad. You know, you give reasons that you think will convince your audience to side with you, instead of nakedly revealing the reason you really think it.

Sometimes I get frustrated. He’s uncloaking his epic vision of a Christian Neo-Platonic Universe in all its shining glory, and then he has to pause to pander to Late Antique Roman Sensibilities to explain why it’s a great idea. The worst is the mockery of one’s opponents. I don’t think he was a vicious man. But you do what works.

He was, I remind myself, a lawyer.

For example– “The hookup culture and strip-tease clubs are not intellectual! The value women’s sexual aspects and not her chemistry-acing, ninja-fighting, and chess-playing aspects!! Perpetuates stereotypical attitudes! Is inherently anti-feminist!”

I think I’ve said all those things. But I’ll be honest with you now. The real reason I hate the hookup culture is that it trivializes sex. And by trivializing it, it makes me want to jump off a bridge.

That is the honest-to-God truth.

I cannot see how sex without loyalty is not trivial. Without loyalty, sex means less than the ritualized smile of the bagger at the check-out grocery counter.

And when sex is trivialized, in Chubbic’s mental universe,  all sex’s accouterments and products become trivialized: babies and romantic promises and and human bodies and human passions and humans themselves. When sex is trivialized, it makes me doubt the importance (or permanence) of the human soul itself. When sex is trivialized, I feel like the materialists are right–we are just smart monkeys pretending that ‘love’ exists while we trick and rape each other to the genocidal progressive march of evolution, as it blots out one species for another, that will probably culminate with some super-genius talking octopii in a million years….. before our whole universe dies when everything cools off and the last star dies, leaving a gaseous cold empty universe devoid of life, like the remains of last New Year’s Eve’s ashes in the fireplace that everyone forgot to clean up.

And yes, that makes me want to jump off a bridge.

So, you wonder, why should I pick on everyone else about it?

Because, I’m guessing that some of the people jumping off bridges are doing it for the reasons that make me feel that way. And I don’t want them (or myself) to go through that.

OK? So yes, I sound like an idiot. But I’m turning 30 next year, and I figured the time for eloquence is over. I’m not a lawyer. I don’t want to be an academic. I just want to be a human. So I’m just going to tell you what I really think — and why.

Leave a Reply

